Local history

Can you help me with local history?

Yes, there are several places you can go for help.

The archives and local studies service holds archives for the East Riding and the main collection of local studies books.

The museums service holds a wealth of information about the archaeology and social history of the East Riding and they may be able to help you.

You can borrow books on local history from your local library.

There are local studies libraries at Goole and Bridlington, which have local collections about these places.

Top of page

How do I start finding out about where I live?

There is a lot of local history in the East Riding. Each village, town and neighbourhood has its own story to tell. The job of a local historian is to build up a picture of the place and the people in it through the ages.

Whether you live in a town or a village, there is likely to be something written about it. For starting out, books will be easy to use and will give you the background information you need before doing more detailed research.

The main collection of local history books can be seen in the research room of the Treasure House. You can borrow some local history books from your library.

The Victoria County History of the East Riding is a good starting place. Each volume has a history of each town and village.

Top of page

Which places are in the Victoria County History for the East Riding?

The Victoria County History is researched by professional historians using original documents. There are a series of volumes for many English Counties, including the East Riding. The volumes have a history of each town and village. The Victoria County History is not complete but you can see a list of the places that have been done.

Below is a list of the volumes you can see and the places that are in them with links to a website where you can see the text of the books.

Yorkshire East Riding I

The city of Kingston upon Hull

Yorkshire East Riding I online (external website)

Yorkshire East Riding II

Dickering Wapentake North-Eastern part

Argam, Bempton, Bessingby, Boynton, Bridlington, Burton Agnes, Burton Fleming, Carnaby, Filey, Flamborough, Folkton, Foston on the Wolds, Foxholes, Fraisthorpe, Ganton, Garton on the Wolds, Harpham, Hunmanby, Little Kelk, Kilham, Langtoft, Lowthorpe, Muston, Nafferton, Wold Newton, Reighton, Rudston, Ruston Parva, Thwing

Yorkshire East Riding II online (external website)

Yorkshire East Riding III

Ouse and Derwent Wapentake:

Dunnington, Elvington, Escrick, Fulford, Heminborough (incl Barlby, Brackenholme with Woodhall, Cliffe with Lund, South Duffield, Menthorpe with Bowthorpe, Osgodby), Heslington, Naburn, Riccall, Skipwith, Stillingfleet, Thornganby, Wheldrake, Harthill Wapentake, western part

Wilton Beacon division: Allerthorpe, Barmby Moor, Catton, (incl High and Low Catton and Stamford Bridge East), Kexby, Scoreby, Stamford Bridge, Fangfoss, Full Sutton, Sutton upon Derwent, Thornton, Wilberfoss.

Yorkshire East Riding III online (external website)

Yorkshire East Riding IV

Harthill Wapentake, southern part

Hunsley Beacon division: Bishop Burton, Cherry Burton, North Cave, South Cave, Cottingham, South Dalton, Elloughton. Etton, Hotham, Leconfield, Newbald, Rowley, Sancton, Skidby.

Yorkshire East Riding V

Holderness Wapentake, south and middle division:

South division: Burstwick, Easington, Halsham, Hollym, Holmpton, Keyingham, Kilnsea, Ottringham, Owthorne, Patrington, Paull, Skeffling, Sunk Island, Welwick, Winestead, Withernsea.

Middle division (part): Hedon, Preston

Yorkshire East Riding VI

Borough and liberty of Beverley

Outlying townships: Beverley Parks, Eske, Molescroft, Storkhill and Sandholme, Thearne and Woodmansey, Tickton, Weel.

Yorkshire East Riding VI online (external website)

Yorkshire East Riding VII

Holderness Wapentake, middle and north division Aldbrough, Burton Pidsea, Garton, Hilston, Humbleton, Roos, Sproatley, Swine, Tunstall, Wawne

North division: Atwick, Barmston, Beeford, Brandesburton, Catwick, North Frodingham, Goxhill, Hornsea, Leven, Mappleton, Nunkeeling, Rise, Long Riston, Routh, Sigglesthorne, Skipsea, Withernwick

Yorkshire East Riding VII online (external website)

Yorkshire East Riding VIII

Buckrose Wapentake

East Buckrose: Sledmere and the Northern Wolds: Cowlam, Fimber, Fridaythorpe, Helperthorpe, Kirby Grindalythe, Luttons Ambo, Sledmere, Weaverthorpe, Wetwang

Top of page

What can I look at to help me research local history?

The archives and local studies service have produced a beginners guide to unlocking the history of your community. The contents of this guide are listed below. For more detailed information you can always search our online catalogue or visit the browsing our archives page for what records we hold.


  • Local directories
  • Newspapers and journals

People of the community.

  • Parish registers and records
  • Census returns
  • Electoral registers
  • Poll books
  • Cemeteries
  • Family and estate
  • Schools

Law and order

  • Quarter Sessions
  • Poor relief

Land and property

  • Maps and plans
  • Enclosure maps
  • Tithe maps
  • Ordnance Survey maps
  • Plans
  • Deeds
  • Register of deeds
  • Wills


  • Hearth tax
  • Land tax assessments
  • Valuation books
  • Rate books


  • Roads
  • Canals
  • Railways

Photographs and postcards

Top of page

Rate this page
Satisfied with the content on this page or is there room for improvement? Leave a rating.